Contents

Renewals and Upgrades

To renew a license or modify a license, you must purchase a new AuthPoint license and activate it in the Support Center. When you activate the new license you can choose whether you want to add users or extend your current license.

If you choose to add users, the users you purchased are added to your current user count. For example, if you have 50 users and purchase 100 users, your final user count after you activate your license is 150 users (50 users + 100 new users).

When you extend your license, if you purchased the same number of users that you currently have, your user count remains the same and your license is extended for the number of years specified in your purchase order. If you purchased more users than are on your current license, your user count is immediately updated to match the number of users on the license you purchased and a new expiration date is calculated based on your updated user count and the term length of the license you activated. So if you have 50 users and purchase 100 users, when you choose to extend your license your final user count after you activate the new license is 100 users (the number of users on the license you purchased).

To renew with fewer users, purchase a new AuthPoint license with the number of users you want.and choose Extend License when you activate your license key.

When you renew your license with fewer users, we recommend you do this at a time close to your expiration date. If you activate the license key before your expiration date, your user count is reduced immediately.

License Expiration Date

When you add users or extend a license, the new license is merged with your active AuthPoint license and the two licenses are co-termedCo-terming is when you consolidate or merge your licenses to synchronize renewal dates.. When licenses are co-termed, a new expiration date is calculated based on your updated user count and the term length of the license you activated. If you purchased the same number of users that you currently have, your user count remains the same and your license is extended for the number of years specified in your purchase order.

For more information, see Co-Term AuthPoint Licenses.

Renew or Modify a License

To renew or modify an existing license, you must first purchase a new AuthPoint license with the number of users you want. Once you have a license key, follow these steps to activate the key and use it to renew or modify an active license.

  1. Go to https://www.watchguard.com/ and log in with your WatchGuard account user name and password.
  2. On the Support Center Home page, scroll down to the Manage Your Products section.
  3. In the Activate Product text box, type or paste your license key.
  4. Click Go.
    The Activate Products page appears.
  5. Click Continue.
    The Activate a Product wizard begins.
  6. (Service Providers only) On the Choose a Product to Upgrade page of the activation wizard, from the drop-down list, select the name of the license you want to extend or add users to.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select Add Users to add the purchased users to your license or select Extend License to extend the renewal date for your license.

    When you choose to extend your license, your user count is immediately updated to match the number of users on the license you purchased. If the purchased license has fewer users than your current license, your user count will be reduced immediately when the new license is activated.

  9. Click Next.
  10. On the Confirm Your Activation page, make sure the updates to your license are correct.
  11. Click Next.
  12. Select the I Accept the End-User License Agreement check box.
  13. Click Next.
    The Activation is Complete page appears.

Your new license is activated and merged with your active AuthPoint license, and the two licenses are co-termedCo-terming is when you consolidate or merge your licenses to synchronize renewal dates.. Your user count is updated and any added users are automatically allocated to your account.

If you are a Service Provider, the users are added to your inventory. From your inventory, you can allocate users to managed accounts or to your own account. For more information, see WatchGuard Cloud for Service Providers.

See Also

About AuthPoint Licenses

Co-Term AuthPoint Licenses

Give Us Feedback  ●   Get Support  ●   All Product Documentation  ●   Technical Search