AuthPoint is a subscription security service that is licensed per user. You can activate and manage AuthPoint term licenses on the WatchGuard portal in the Support Center. From Support Center, on the AuthPoint Licenses page, you can see the activated AuthPoint licenses for your account. If you click on the name of a license, you can see the details and history of that license.
WatchGuard Cloud Subscriber accounts can only have one AuthPoint license. When a Subscriber account activates a new license key in the Support Center, it is used to modify the current active AuthPoint license. You can use a new license to add users or extend the license expiration.
WatchGuard Cloud Service Providers can have any number of licenses. When a Service Provider activates a new license key, they can use it to modify an active license or add a new, separate license. The users on the license are added to the Service Provider's inventory in WatchGuard Cloud, but the expiration date of the license is tracked separately.
When you purchase AuthPoint users, you are given a license key to activate on the WatchGuard website.
When you activate your AuthPoint license key, the users for that license are added to your AuthPoint account. If you have a Service Provider account, then the users are instead added to your inventory in WatchGuard Cloud. From your inventory, you can allocate users to managed accounts or to your own account. For more information, see WatchGuard Cloud for Service Providers.
If you are a Subscriber with an active AuthPoint trial, when you activate your first license it replaces your trial license. The trial ends and your new license becomes active immediately. Your new license inherits the name of your trial license.
Once you have an active AuthPoint license, you have several options when you activate additional AuthPoint license keys. Within the activation process, you can:
- Add users to a license
- Extend a license
- Add a new license (Service Providers only)
When you add users or extend a license, the new license is merged with your active AuthPoint license and the two licenses are co-termed. When licenses are co-termed, a new expiration date is calculated based on your updated user count and the term length of the license you activated.
To learn how to activate an AuthPoint license, see Activate an AuthPoint License.
Renewals and Upgrades
To renew a license or modify a term license, purchase a new AuthPoint license and activate it. When you activate the new license you can choose whether you want to add users or extend your current license.
If you choose to add users, the users you purchased are added to your current user count. So if you have 50 users and purchase 100 users, your final user count after you activate your license is 150 users (50 users + 100 new users).
When you extend your license, if you purchased the same number of users that you currently have, your license is extended for another period (one or three years). If you purchased more users than are on your current license, your user count is immediately updated to match the number of users on the license you purchased. So if you have 50 users and purchase 100 users, when you choose to extend your license your final user count after you activate the new license is 100 users (the number of users on the license you purchased).
To renew with fewer users, purchase the desired number of AuthPoint users and choose Extend License when you activate your license key.
When you renew your license with fewer users, you should do so close to your expiration date. If you activate the license key before your expiration date, your user count is reduced immediately.
If you have an active subscription license, when you renew or upgrade a term license your subscription user count is automatically updated so that only the users in excess of your termed licenses are billed as subscription users.