You can remove a device from WatchGuard Cloud. This unregisters the device from your WatchGuard Cloud account and removes the stored log and report data from WatchGuard Cloud.
If you remove a cloud-managed Firebox from WatchGuard Cloud, the Firebox becomes locally-managed, and continues to use the last deployed configuration and device passwords.
To remove a FireCluster, see Remove a FireCluster from WatchGuard Cloud.
For information about how to remove a Firebox from cloud management, but keep the device in WatchGuard Cloud for monitoring, see Remove a Firebox from Cloud Management.
To remove a device from WatchGuard Cloud:
- Log in to WatchGuard Cloud.
- Select Configure > Devices.
- Select the device.
- In the Remove Device section, click Remove.
A confirmation dialog box opens.
- Click Remove.
The device is unregistered from your WatchGuard Cloud account.
Firebox Status for a Removed Device
When you remove a Firebox from WatchGuard Cloud, WatchGuard Cloud remains enabled in the Firebox configuration. If you do not disable WatchGuard Cloud on the Firebox, the Firebox continues to attempt to connect. After you remove the Firebox from your WatchGuard Cloud account, the WatchGuard Cloud status on the Firebox changes to Not Connected immediately. After a few minutes, the WatchGuard Cloud status on the Firebox changes to Failed Registration.
Data Deletion for a Removed Device
When you remove a device from your WatchGuard Cloud account, the device immediately disappears from the list in your account and you cannot see log and report data for the device. WatchGuard deletes log data associated with your device from WatchGuard Cloud servers within one day.
If you add the device back to your WatchGuard Cloud account on the same day you removed it, and before WatchGuard deletes the data for that device, the previously stored log data and reports become visible again.
If you remove a cloud-managed device, WatchGuard continues to store device configuration data for one year, or until you deallocate the device from the account, whichever comes first. If you later add the device back to the same account as a cloud-managed device, the Deployment History shows previous configurations deployed to that device.
Data Retention License for a Removed Device
If the device had a Data Retention license assigned to it, the Data Retention license becomes unassigned and is available to assign to another device in your account. For more information, see Manage Data Retention Licenses.