Revert to a Previous Device Deployment

Applies To: Cloud-managed Fireboxes

To restore the configuration settings for a cloud-managed device to a previous configuration version, you can revert to a previous deployment. To revert the configuration in the cloud to the last deployed configuration, you can revert undeployed saved changes.

To review the configuration settings in a deployment before you revert to it, view the Configuration Report. For more information, see View the Device Configuration Report.

To compare configuration versions, click Compare Versions. For more information, see Compare Configuration Versions.

Revert Undeployed Saved Changes

If you have saved configuration changes in WatchGuard Cloud, but have not deployed them yet, you can revert to the last saved deployment. This resets the configuration in WatchGuard Cloud to the previously deployed settings. It does not create a new deployment or change any settings on the device.

To revert undeployed saved changes, from WatchGuard Cloud:

  1. Select Configure > Devices.
  2. Select the cloud-managed device.
  3. Click Deployment History.
    The Deployment History page opens.

Screen shot of the Pending Changes section when a deployment is not scheduled

  1. Click Revert Undeployed Changes.
    This option is available only if there are undeployed saved changes.
  2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Revert.
    The device configuration settings in WatchGuard Cloud revert to the settings from the last deployed configuration.

Revert to a Previous Configuration Version

You can revert the configuration settings for a cloud-managed device to the settings from a previous configuration version. This restores the settings from the selected configuration version to the device configuration in WatchGuard Cloud, and immediately deploys a new configuration version for the device to download.

You cannot revert a device to:

  • A BOVPN configuration deployment, or a configuration deployed before the most recent BOVPN deployment.
  • A Firebox template configuration deployment, or a configuration deployed before the most recent Firebox template deployment.
  • A configuration with a wireless Country of Operation that is different from the current Country of Operation. For more information about this setting, see Configure Wireless Radio Settings.

Before you can revert to a previous configuration version, you must revert any undeployed saved changes.

To revert to a previously deployed configuration, from WatchGuard Cloud:

  1. Select Configure > Devices.
  2. Select the cloud-managed device.
  3. Click Deployment History.
    The Deployment History page opens.

Screen shot of the Deployment History, with the Revert option selected

  1. To revert to a previously deployed configuration version, in the version row, click and select Revert to this version.
    A confirmation dialog box opens.
  2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Revert.
    The device configuration in the cloud updates to match the selected deployment, and the updated configuration is immediately deployed as a new version for the device to download. The deployment Description shows the original version number of the restored configuration.

See Also

Manage Device Configuration Deployment

Compare Configuration Versions