Manage Firebox Configuration Deployment

Applies To: Cloud-managed Fireboxes

This feature is only available to participants in the WatchGuard Cloud Beta program.

When you save configuration changes for a cloud-managed Firebox, the configuration settings are stored in WatchGuard Cloud. To create a configuration update for the Firebox to download, you must schedule a deployment. You can schedule a deployment from the Deployment History page or from the message banner.

Scheduled Deployments

When you schedule a deployment, you can choose to deploy the current configuration immediately (Deploy Now), or specify a future date and time for the deployment. At the specified time, WatchGuard Cloud creates a configuration update for the Firebox to download.

At the scheduled deployment time:

  • WatchGuard Cloud creates a configuration update that contains all device configuration settings saved as of the deployment date and time.
  • WatchGuard Cloud saves the configuration update to a cloud location where the Firebox can connect to download it.
  • WatchGuard Cloud notifies the Firebox that a new configuration is ready to download.
  • If the Firebox is connected to WatchGuard Cloud, it immediately tries to download and apply the configuration update.

If the Firebox is not connected to WatchGuard Cloud at the scheduled deployment time, the Firebox downloads and applies the configuration update the next time it connects.

Shared Configuration Deployments

There are two types of deployments that happen automatically when you make changes or deploy a shared configuration:

See the Firebox Deployment Status

From the Deployment History page, you can see information about previous deployments and create or update a scheduled deployment.

To open the Deployment History page:

  1. In WatchGuard Cloud, select Configure > Devices.
  2. Select the cloud-managed Firebox.
  3. Click Deployment History.

Screen shot of the Deployment History page

For each deployment, the Deployment History page shows this information:

  • Version — The configuration version. For a deployment of shared configuration updates, a label might appear after the version number to indicate a deployment of shared settings:
  • TEMPLATE — A deployment created when an operator deployed an update to a template configuration.
  • Deployed — The date and time the configuration was created (the scheduled deployment time).
  • Operator — The operator who scheduled the deployment.
  • Description — The description of the deployed configuration version.
  • Status — The status of whether the Firebox successfully downloaded and applied the deployed configuration update:
  • Succeeded — The Firebox successfully downloaded and applied the configuration update.
  • Waiting for Device — The configuration update was created and is ready for the Firebox to download and apply. This could happen if the Firebox is not connected to WatchGuard Cloud at the deployment date and time.
  • Skipped — The deployed configuration was superceded by a later deployment. If a previous deployment had the status Waiting for Device, and you deploy a newer configuration update, the status of the previous deployment changes from Waiting for Device to Skipped.
  • Failed — The Firebox could not download or apply the deployed configuration. This could happen, for example, if a device between the cloud-managed Firebox and WatchGuard Cloud blocks DNS or other traffic required for the Firebox to connect to download the configuration.
  • Applied —The date and time the Firebox applied the configuration.

To see more details about deployment status, click the link in the Status column for that deployment.

To see a report of all settings in a deployed configuration, click the version number. Or, click and select View Configuration Report. For more information, see View the Firebox Configuration Report.

Pending Changes

On the Deployment History page, the Pending Changes section is shown only if there are configuration changes saved to the cloud after the last deployed configuration.

From the Pending Changes section, you can:

  • Schedule a deployment.
  • Update a scheduled deployment.
  • Delete a scheduled deployment.
  • Revert changes saved since the last deployment.

The options available in the Pending Changes section depend on whether a deployment is scheduled.

If there are saved changes but no deployment is scheduled

The Pending Changes section shows that you have undeployed saved changes.

Screen shot of the Pending Changes section when a deployment is not scheduled

  • To schedule a new deployment, click Schedule Deployment.
  • To revert changes saved since the last deployment, click Revert Changes.

If a deployment is already scheduled

The Pending Changes section shows the date and time for the scheduled deployment.

Screen shot of the Pending Changes section when a deployment is scheduled

  • To update the scheduled deployment, click Update Scheduled Deployment.
  • To cancel the scheduled deployment, click Delete Scheduled Deployment.

Deployment Message Banners

When the Firebox has undeployed changes saved to the cloud by any operator, the Device Configuration pages show a message banner. In the message banner, you can click a link to schedule or update a deployment.

If no deployment is currently scheduled, you can click the link to schedule a deployment.

Screen shot of the notification banner when there are undeployed saved changes

If a deployment is already scheduled, you can click the link to update the schedule.

Screen shot of the message banner when a deployment is scheduled

Schedule a Deployment

You can schedule a deployment from the message banner or the Deployment History page. When you schedule a deployment, you choose whether to deploy the currently saved configuration immediately, or to schedule the deployment for a future date and time. If you schedule a deployment for a future date and time, the deployed configuration will include all changes saved to the cloud as of the scheduled deployment time.

Update a Scheduled Deployment

You can update a scheduled deployment any time before the scheduled time for the deployment.

To edit the scheduled deployment, use one of these methods: 

  • On the Deployment History page, click Update Scheduled Deployment.
  • In the message banner, click Update.

Screen shot of the Schedule Deployment settings

Delete a Scheduled Deployment

You can delete a scheduled deployment any time before the scheduled time for the deployment. When you delete a scheduled deployment, it does not affect the Firebox configuration saved in the cloud.

To delete a scheduled deployment:

  1. On the Deployment History page, click Delete Scheduled Deployment.
    A confirmation message opens.
  2. To confirm that you want to delete this deployment, click Delete.

After you delete a scheduled deployment, the Pending Changes section is no longer shown on the Deployment History page.

See Also

Revert to a Previous Firebox Deployment

View the Firebox Configuration Report