Contents

Manage WebBlocker Server Users

On the Access Management page, you can manage the users that can connect to the WebBlocker Server web UI. A default administrator user account is available after you install the WebBlocker Server, but you can also add new user accounts for other people who might need to access the web UI.

You can assign one of two access levels to users to control which areas they can access:

Role Allowed Actions
Server Administrator

Lookup WebBlocker categories on the Home page.

Configure WebBlocker Server settings in these pages:

  • Server Management
  • Database Management
  • Access Management
  • System Settings
Server Monitor

Lookup WebBlocker categories on the Home page.

View log messages.

Add a New User

To add a new user:

  1. Select > Administration > Administration > Access Management.
    The Access Management page appears.

Screenshot of Account Management page.

  1. To unlock the configuration so you can make changes, click the Locked icon.
  2. Click Add.
    The Add User dialog box appears.

Screenshot of Add User dialog box.

  1. In the Name text box, type the user name.
  2. From the Access Level drop-down list, select an access level.
  3. In the Passphrase and Confirm Passphrase text boxes, type the passphrase for the user account.
  4. Click Save.
    The new user appears in the Manage Users list.

For information about how users can change their passphrases, see Change Your WebBlocker Server Passphrase.

Edit a User

When you edit a user account, you can change the passphrase and user access level. You cannot change the user name.

To edit a user:

  1. From the Manage Users list, select the row of a user.
  2. Click Edit.
    The Edit User dialog box appears.
  3. To change the user role, from the Access Level drop-down list, select a role.
  4. To change the passphrase for a local user account:
    1. Select the Change Passphrase check box.
    2. In the Passphrase and Confirm Passphrase text boxes, type a new passphrase for the user.
  5. Click Save.
    The Manage Users list appears with a message that the user information was updated.

Delete a User

You can delete users that you no longer need.

To permanently delete a user:

  1. From the Manage Users list, select the row of a user.
  2. Click Remove.
    A confirmation message appears.
  3. Click OK to delete the user.
    The user is deleted from the Manage Users list.

Give Us Feedback  ●   Get Support  ●   All Product Documentation  ●   Technical Search