Firebox Backup and Restore
Applies To: Locally-managed Fireboxes
A backup image is a file that you can use to restore your Firebox back to a previous state. Backup images include the configuration file, certificates, passphrases, feature key, and other information unique to your Firebox.
When you upgrade the version of Fireware OS on your Firebox, a backup image is saved to the Firebox automatically. We recommend that you also regularly save a backup image of your Firebox before you make significant changes to your configuration.
- Backup images saved in Fireware v12.2.1 and higher do not include the Fireware OS and are saved directly to the Firebox.
- Backup images saved in Fireware v12.2 and lower include the Fireware OS and are saved to a location off the Firebox.
You can also save backup images to a connected USB drive. Backup images saved to a USB drive can include the Fireware OS. In Fireware v12.3 and higher, you can designate a backup image saved on the USB drive as the backup image to restore automatically when your Firebox is in recovery mode.
Note: As of Fireware v12.12.1 and v2026.2.1 and higher, you can no longer select to include the Fireware OS in USB auto-restore backup images. For more information, go to Automatically Restore a Backup Image from a USB Drive.
In Fireware v12.5.2 and higher, the Firebox configuration can be backed up and restored using WatchGuard Cloud. For more information, go to Manage Backup Images for Locally-Managed Fireboxes in WatchGuard Cloud.
For more information about how to back up and restore the Firebox, go to:
- View Backup Images Stored on the Firebox
- Save a Firebox Backup Image
- Restore a Firebox Backup Image
- Export a Backup Image Stored on the Firebox
- Import a Backup Image to the Firebox
- Delete a Firebox Backup Image
- Manage Backup Images for Locally-Managed Fireboxes in WatchGuard Cloud
- Use a USB Drive for System Backup and Restore
- USB Drive Directory Structure
- Automatically Restore a Backup Image from a USB Drive
- Save a Backup Image to a USB Drive Connected to Your Computer