Contents

Configure Auto Deletion Settings

Wi-Fi Cloud stores historical event information about visible devices. The rate of growth of this information depends on the volatility of the wireless environment at the deployed location. We recommend that you periodically delete this information to remove obsolete data.

To configure auto deletion settings, select Configuration > System Settings > Auto Deletion.

Auto-deletion parameters are based on these categories: Access Point, Client, Network, and Events.

  • Access Point Deletion Parameters: Select the AP categories for which you want to set the auto-delete duration. Specify the number of days of inactivity after which the AP-related information is to be automatically deleted for the respective category. The minimum number of days of inactivity is 1 and the maximum number of days of inactivity is 30.
  • Client Deletion Parameters: Select the client categories for which you want to set the auto-delete duration. Select the appropriate check box and specify the number of days (1-30) of inactivity after which the client-related information is to be automatically deleted for the respective category.
  • Network Deletion Parameters: Select the No. of days to retain exposed Networks check box and specify the duration, in days (1-90), for which the exposed networks are to be retained. The default value is 30 days.
  • Events Deletion Parameters: Specify the maximum number of security, performance, and system events that should be retained.

Event Type

Default number of events

Minimum number of events to store

Maximum number of events to store

Security

50,000

20,000

80,000

Performance

10,000

5,000

40,000

System

1,000

500

2,000

In the Days for which to Retain Events text box, specify how many days (1-30) the events should be retained. The default value is 30 days. Events older than the specified period are purged.

You can track the auto deletion of inactive APs, clients, and events by monitoring the generated special event. The event details contain the summary of the actions performed during the auto-deletion operation only if data has been deleted.

Give Us Feedback  ●   Get Support  ●   All Product Documentation  ●   Technical Search