Contents

Create a Portal

You can create one or more captive portals that guest users can use to authenticate.

  1. Select Portals.
    The page lists the details of the portals created in your account.
  2. Click New Portal and enter the following information.
  • Portal Name — Name of the portal.
  • Display Name — Display name of the portal.
  • Shared Secret — The passphrase for secure communication between the access point and the portal. If a shared secret is configured on the SSID in Manage, you must configure the same shared secret in the portal.
  • Active — Indicates if the portal is active or inactive.
  • Sign out Popup — Display a sign out popup message to a guest user on signing in to the portal. This option is selected by default. Deselect the check box if you do not wish to display the sign out popup to a guest user.
  • Skip Splash page — If this option is selected, Guest Wi-Fi users will see the splash page only the first time they access the Internet. The authentication method is recorded and the guests are not shown the splash page on their subsequent visits within the specified duration. This setting is not applicable if the guest uses the Click-through or RADIUS plug-in for authentication
  • Duration — This option is displayed after selecting the Skip Splash page option. The duration is the number of days the returning guest Wi-Fi user will not have to authenticate through the splash page. The default value is 1 day and maximum value is 90 days.
  1. Click Save. The portal is created but not configured.
  2. On the Settings tab, click the icons for the portal plug-ins to activate the respective plug-ins on this portal.
    At least one plug-in must be selected to complete the portal creation.
  3. Click Save.

The portal is configured with the default campaign that uses the default splash page.

If you have activated plug-ins other than the Click-through plug-in in the portal, then the splash page in the default campaign must be modified to include the selected plug-ins. This can be performed with the Engage app.

Delete a Portal

You can delete a portal if you no longer require it. If you do not want to delete the portal, you can deactivate it.

To delete a portal:

  1. Click Portals.
  2. In the Portals list, click the Delete icon for the portal that you want to delete.
  3. Click OK to delete the portal.
    The portal is removed from the table on the Portals page.

To deactivate a portal:

  1. Click Portals.
  2. In the Portals list, click the name of the portal that you want to deactivate.
  3. Clear the Active check box.
  4. Click Save.
    On the Portal page, under Active, the value No appears for this portal.

Give Us Feedback  ●   Get Support  ●   All Product Documentation  ●   Technical Search