Contents

Firebox Allocation

Fireboxes activated by a Service Provider appear in the Service Provider Inventory in WatchGuard Cloud. As a Service Provider, you can allocate devices to your own account or any account you manage. After you allocate a Firebox to a subscriber account, the device appears on the list of devices you can add to that account. For information about how to add a device to a subscriber account, see Add a Firebox to WatchGuard Cloud.

You allocate devices from the Inventory page in the Service Provider view of WatchGuard Cloud. The Overview page for your Service Provider account shows you an overview of the users and devices in your inventory. In the Overview page, the Firebox Overview section shows this information:

  • Next License Expiration — Next Firebox license expiration date
  • Unallocated Fireboxes — Number of unallocated Fireboxes in your account
  • Allocated Fireboxes — Number of Fireboxes currently allocated to a managed account
  • Total Fireboxes — Number of Fireboxes in your account that have a WatchGuard Cloud license
  • Data Retention Licenses — Number of Data Retention licenses in your account

When you allocate a device to an account, you specify an allocation expiration date. Set the allocation expiration to any date that helps you manage the business relationship with your customer. The allocation expiration date does not affect the operation of the Firebox, and is not related to expiration of the Firebox feature key or services. When the allocation expires, the Firebox continues to operate with full functionality.

Allocate a Device to an Account

Before you can add a Firebox to a Subscriber account, you must allocate it to the account.

To allocate a device to an account:

  1. Log in to your WatchGuard Cloud Service Provider account.
  2. From the navigation menu, select Inventory.
    The Overview page for your Service Provider Inventory opens.
  3. In the Accounts menu, select the top-level folder for your Service Provider account.
  4. In the Inventory menu, in the Firebox section, select Unallocated.
    A list of all unallocated Fireboxes appears.

Screen shot of the Inventory, Firebox > Unallocated list

  1. To allocate a Firebox to an account, click the Name of the Firebox.
    The Allocation Details page appears.

  1. From the Allocated to drop-down list, select the account to allocate this device to. This can be your own account or any managed account.
  2. In the Allocation Expiration text box, type or select the expiration date for this device allocation. Format the date as YYYY-MM-DD.
  3. Click Save.
    The device is removed from the Unallocated list, and is added to the Allocation list for the account you selected.

See the Allocation Summary

When you select the top-level folder for your Service Provider account, you can see and manage the Firebox inventory by account or by device.

To see a summary of Firebox allocation by account:

  1. From the navigation menu, select Inventory.
    The Overview page for your Service Provider Inventory opens.
  2. In the Accounts menu, select the top-level folder for your Service Provider account.
  3. In the Inventory menu, below Firebox, select Allocation.
    By default the Firebox Allocation page shows a summary of the number of devices allocated to each account.

Screen shot of the Firebox allocation summary page

  1. To see the list of devices allocated to an account, click the Account Name.
    In the Accounts list, the account is selected, and the Allocation list shows the Fireboxes allocated to that account.

Screen shot of the Firebox allocation for a managed account

To see a summary of Firebox allocation by device:

  1. From the navigation menu, select Inventory.
    The Overview page for your Service Provider Inventory opens.
  2. In the Accounts menu, select the top-level folder for your Service Provider account.
  3. In the Inventory menu, in the Firebox section, select Allocation.
    By default, the Allocation page shows the summary of allocated devices by account name.
  4. From the drop-down list, select By Device.
    The allocation summary list changes to list all allocated devices.

Screen shot of the allocation summary by device name

  1. To edit the allocation details for a device, click the device Name.
    The Allocation Details for the device appear.

Screen shot of the allocation details for an allocated Firebox

To see all devices allocated to an account, in the Accounts list, select an account name.

Change Device Allocation Details

When you edit the allocation for an allocated Firebox, you can perform these actions:

Deallocate the Firebox

This action removes the Firebox from the account, and returns it to your unallocated Firebox inventory.

To deallocate a Firebox, on the Allocation Details page, click Deallocate Firebox.

Allocate the Firebox to a different account

This action deallocates the Firebox from the original account, and allocates it to an account you specify.

Change the Allocation Expiration

You can change the allocation expiration date. This has no effect on the operation of the Firebox, and does not change the reports and log data available for the device in the account. The allocation expiration is only to help you manage the account.

Data Deletion after Firebox Deallocation

If you deallocate a Firebox from an account, or allocate it to a different account, the device is no longer associated with the original account. The log and report data is immediately removed unless the Firebox has a Data Retention license assigned to it.

You cannot recover the log and report data for a deallocated device, even if you allocate the device back to the same account.

When you deallocate a Firebox, it is added back to the Unallocated list in your Service Provider account. The status of the Firebox and the stored data for that Firebox in the account it was previously allocated to depends on whether the Firebox has a Data Retention license assigned.

Deallocated Firebox has no Data Retention license assigned

The Firebox no longer appears in the Subscriber account, and previous data for that Firebox is no longer available.

Deallocated Firebox has a Data Retention license assigned

The Firebox status in the Subscriber account changes to Inactive. Stored data for the Firebox remains in the account until the data is older than the data retention period in the Data Retention license.

When the Data Retention license for an inactive Firebox expires, WatchGuard removes data for that Firebox from WatchGuard Cloud. For more information, see Inactive Devices and Data Retention.

See Also

Data Retention License Allocation

Give Us Feedback  ●  Get Support  ●  All Product Documentation  ●   Technical Search