Designate a Cache Computer (Windows computers)

Applies To: WatchGuard EPDR, WatchGuard EDR, WatchGuard EPP

On the Network Services > Cache tab, you designate Windows computers that can act as repositories of signature files, security patches, and other components used to update the WatchGuard Endpoint Security software installed on other computers and devices. Computers that you designate as a cache can be added to a Network Settings profile. For more information, see Configure Network Settings.

Cache computers automatically download and store files required by other computers with WatchGuard Endpoint Security installed. If you have more than one cache computer, computers use them based on availability. Access to cache computers can speed up updates and patch downloads. Cache computers save bandwidth because not every computer has to separately download the updates they need. Cache computers download all updates centrally for other computer on the same subnet that require them. For more information, see Configure Downloads from Cache Computers (Windows computers).

Cached Items and Capacity

A computer designated with the cache role can cache these items:

  • Signature Files — Cached until they are no longer valid
  • Installation Packages — Cached until they are no longer valid

The capacity of a cache computer depends on the number of simultaneous connections it can accommodate and the type of traffic it manages (such as signature file downloads or installer downloads). A cache computer can serve approximately 1,000 computers simultaneously.

Designate a Computer as a Cache Computer

You designate a computer as a cache computer and then add it to a Network Settings profile that is assigned to computers and devices on the network. For more information, see Configure Network Settings.

To designate a computer as a cache computer:

  1. From the top navigation bar, select Settings.
  2. From the left pane, select Network Services.
  3. Select the Cache tab.
    The Cache page opens with a list of all computers that have been configured as a cache computer.
  4. Click Add Cache Computer.
    The Add Cache Computer dialog box opens with a list of all the Windows computers.

Screen shot of WatchGuard Endpoint Security, Add Cache Computer

  1. In the search bar, type search terms, such as the name of the computer you want to add as a cache computer.
  2. Select the computer you want to add.
    The selected computer downloads all necessary files to keep its repository automatically synchronized.

Remove the Cache Role from a Computer

To remove the cache role from a computer:

  1. From the top navigation bar, select Settings.
  2. From the left pane, select Network Services.
  3. Select the Cache tab.
  4. Next to the computer you want to remove from the list, click .

Screen shot of WatchGuard Endpoint Security, Network Services, Cache tab

  1. Click Delete.
    WatchGuard Endpoint Security empties the cache. The computer will no longer provide updates and other packages to the other computers on the network.

Specify the Storage Drive

You can configure the endpoint agent to store cached items on a specific drive of the cache computer.

You can only select a drive on a computer which has reported its status to WatchGuard Cloud. If the drive has not reported its status, the drive that stores the WatchGuard Endpoint Security installation files is selected by default.

To specify the cache drive:

  1. From the top navigation bar, select Settings.
  2. From the left pane, select Network Services.
  3. Click the Cache tab.
  4. Select a computer from the list of cache computers.
  5. Click Change.
    The Select Drive dialog box opens and shows the available drives.
  6. To view the space on a drive, point the mouse at the tile.
    A tooltip shows the percentage of used and free space. Only drives with 1 GB or more of free space are available to store cached items.
  7. Select the drive where you want to store the cached items.
  8. Click Select.
    WatchGuard Endpoint Security starts to copy the cached items. When the process is complete, the items are deleted from their original location.

If there is not enough free space or a write error occurs when you select the drive, an error message appears below the cache computer and indicates the cause of the problem.

See Also

Configure Network Services