Define Roles and Role Properties

You can use WatchGuard Server Center and WatchGuard System Manager to define and edit roles and role policies on your Management Server for your role-based administration users and user groups. You can only edit user-defined roles. If you want to change a predefined role, copy the role to a new role and make your changes.

Define Roles in WatchGuard Server Center

  1. In the left navigation bar, select Users.
    The Users page appears.
  2. Select the Roles tab.
    Predefined roles appear in blue. Any user-defined roles appear in black.

Screen shot of the WatchGuard Server Center User Roles page

  1. Follow the instructions in the Configure Roles and Role Properties section.

Define Roles in WatchGuard System Manager

  1. Open WatchGuard System Manager and Use WSM to Connect to your Management Server.
  2. Select File > Manage Users.
    The Manage Users dialog box appears.

Screen shot of the Manage Users dialog box

  1. Click Roles.
    The Roles dialog box appears.

Screen shot of the Roles dialog box

  1. Follow the instructions in the Configure Roles and Role Properties section.

Configure Roles and Role Properties

  1. To define a new role, click Add.
    To edit an existing role, select the role and click Edit.
    You can only edit user-defined roles, not predefined roles. If you want to define a new role based on an existing predefined role, select the predefined role, and click Copy.
    The Role Properties dialog box appears.

Screen shot of the Role Properties dialog box

  1. In the Name text box, type a name for the new role.
  2. In the Permissions list, select the check box for each permission to assign to the role.
    When you select or clear the check box for a top level permission, all the permissions in that permission list are also selected or removed.
  3. Click OK.

Remove a Role

You cannot remove predefined roles from the Management Server. You can only remove user-defined roles.

To remove a user-defined role:

  1. From the Roles list, select a role.
  2. Click Remove.
    A message appears and asks if you want to delete the role.
  3. Click Yes.
    The role is removed from the list.

See Also

About Role-Based Administration

About Predefined Roles

Assign Roles to a User or Group

Give Us Feedback     Get Support     All Product Documentation     Technical Search