Contents

Related Topics

Use the Web UI to Downgrade Fireware OS

You can use the upgrade feature in Fireware Web UI to downgrade the device to an earlier version. This is not the preferred method, because it resets your configuration to factory-default settings.

If you have a saved backup image, the recommended method to downgrade a Firebox to an earlier version of Fireware OS is to restore the backup image. For more information, see Downgrade Fireware OS.

In Fireware v11.7 and higher, if you use the Fireware Web UI Upgrade feature to downgrade the version of Fireware OS installed on your Firebox, the downgrade process resets the configuration to factory-default settings. The downgrade process does not change the Firebox passphrases and does not remove the feature keys and certificates.

Do not use this procedure to downgrade a device that currently runs a version of Fireware OS lower than v11.7. If you want to downgrade a device that currently uses Fireware OS v11.6.x or lower to an earlier version and do not have a backup image, you can use the WSM Quick Setup Wizard and recovery mode to downgrade the device.

Step 1 — Install the Older Version of Fireware OS

If you do not already have it, install the older version of Fireware OS on your management computer

  1. Download the older version of Fireware OS installer file from the WatchGuard Portal on the WatchGuard website at http://www.watchguard.com.
  2. Install the Fireware OS file on your management computer.
    By default, the file is installed in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\WatchGuard\resources\FirewareXTM\11.x folder.

Step 2 — Use the Upgrade Feature in Fireware Web UI to Downgrade

  1. Select System > Upgrade OS.
    The Upgrade OS page appears.
  2. Click Browse to select the downgrade file from the folder where you installed it.
    The name of the file appears on the Upgrade OS page. The file name ends with .sysa_dl.
  3. Click Upgrade.
    After the file upload is complete, a warning appears stating that if you continue, the configuration will be downgraded, and reset to the factory default configuration.
  4. Click Yes to continue with the downgrade.

After the downgrade, the network and security settings are reset to factory default settings, but the admin and status management account passphrases are not reset. You must connect to the device on Eth1, with the default IP address 10.0.1.1 to manage it. For more information about the factory default settings, see About Factory-Default Settings.

Give Us Feedback     Get Support     All Product Documentation     Technical Search